Oil Painting: Horsechestnut, Orchid, and Peaches

Posted on Updated on

20 by 16 inches, oil on hardboard

I’ve been meaning to try larger still life paintings, and here is one. The blooming branch is from a horsechestnut tree. I recently reviewed Quang Ho’s excellent still life dvd, and it was very helpful here. The colors and the light were fun to paint. Holly’s been busy in the art room too, and she takes pictures and videos of her artwork. She said I could put this one up on the blog. The trees are full of eggs in nests, and the birds are protecting all their babies. Oma is looking at the birds and saying “wow!”

OmaAndtheBirds

5 thoughts on “Oil Painting: Horsechestnut, Orchid, and Peaches

    Meta said:
    May 28, 2013 at 7:43 am

    The light and shadows on the still life are beautiful! I would definitely be saying “wow” with so many birds flying above me 🙂 Thank you for my painting Holly, I love it!

    debrha responded:
    May 29, 2013 at 6:52 am

    Thanks!

    Mary said:
    May 29, 2013 at 7:14 am

    Gorgeous still life painting!

      debrha responded:
      May 29, 2013 at 2:13 pm

      Thanks Mary!

    Indian Horsechestnut | Find Me A Cure said:
    July 4, 2013 at 7:57 am

    […] Oil Painting: Horsechestnut, Orchid, and Peaches […]

Leave a comment