Oil Painting: August Garden

Posted on

16 by 20 inches, oil on gessoed hardboard, ©2015 Deb Anderson
16 by 20 inches, oil on gessoed hardboard, ©2015 Deb Anderson

Kris and I met at an art fair this summer and she invited me to sketch and take photos in her beautiful garden. Anemone, flocks, hydrangea, hosta and many other plants provided a fascinating array of colors and textures. I really enjoyed working on this one. I’ve been reading Michael Pollan’s “Second Nature” on and off this summer. He writes about the fuzzy definitions of weed, wild, garden and nature and the role humans play (or think we play) in our environment. So this is going through my mind as I paint. And I might have quoted this before, but lines from an inspiring Fleet Foxes song often go through my mind while painting, too:

If I know only one thing
it’s that everything that I see
of the world outside is so inconceivable
often I barely can speak.

Yeah, I’m tongue-tied and dizzy
and I can’t keep it to myself.
What good is it to sing helplessness blues?
Why should I wait for anyone else?

One thought on “Oil Painting: August Garden

    momsfun2 said:
    September 27, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    Lovely!

Leave a Reply

