Oil Painting: Skokie Lagoons, West

Posted on Updated on

12 inches square, oil on hardboard
12 inches square, oil on hardboard

Here is another view of the Skokie Lagoons, painted indoors from photos I took last week. I love this warm, angled light of winter. Here I’m facing west. I-94 is just beyond the far trees.

I watched a couple of interesting painting videos recently. One was part of an Art21 episode about Rackstraw Downs, where he reflects on painting the altered landscape. Another was David Hockney: The Bigger Picture.

Leave a Reply

