Oil painting: Orange with Steel Bowl

Posted on Updated on

8 by 8 inches, oil on hardboard
8 by 8 inches, oil on hardboard

I got so caught up in the reflections and colors in the bowl. Like glass, reflective metals are a fun puzzle to paint. Is that really what I’m seeing?!

I’ve been working with live setups rather than photos lately. I’ve always done some of each. Working from life motivates me to finish – more time pressure since things wilt or droop or get eaten or moved. The paintings I’ve had a hard time finishing are all from photos, and it’s just easier to walk away from, knowing I can come back to it later, but by then the paint is drying and the focus is interrupted. Painting from life has a different look, too.

The girls joined me for the painting session last night. I love it when we paint together. Meredith started a scene with a train, but hasn’t finished it yet. Here is Holly’s nest.

8 by 10, acrylic on mat board
8 by 10, acrylic on mat board
3 thoughts on “Oil painting: Orange with Steel Bowl

    Sten said:
    December 4, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    Fantastic reflections. I love Holly’s nest too. I can’t wait to see the train.

      debrha responded:
      December 5, 2013 at 12:27 am

      Thanks!

    Mary said:
    December 5, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

