Plein air painting: Fall River

Posted on

8 by 8 inches, oil on hardboard

And here we are in the Rocky Mountains. We are still fighting off colds and coughs, so after trying a few short trails this morning we took it easy today. For me, that meant sitting in the backyard, painting the Fall River. I’m also posting a quick painting I did two days ago outside our hotel in Custer State Park. I keep reminding myself – simple, basic shapes! But I struggle to put it into practice. And why is green so hard?

FallRiverEasel

Creekside

3 thoughts on “Plein air painting: Fall River

    Linda Hendriksma said:
    June 13, 2013 at 4:17 am

    Great paintings – It looks beautiful out there! sounds like you are having a good time. I hope you all feel better soon.

    Maggie Capettini said:
    June 13, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    I like what you are doing! Green IS hard, no doubt about it. A tough one to get just right. I like the sense of movement and I also enjoy the presence of your brushwork – very fresh feeling and exciting, you can tell that you the painter were in the moment.

    Meta said:
    June 13, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Feel better quickly! Hope weather continues to be good for painting and hiking.

Leave a Reply

