Oil Paintings: Lake and Sky

Posted on Updated on

Two paintings, each 12 by 24 inches, oil on hardboard
Two paintings, each 12 by 24 inches, oil on hardboard

Happy Old Year! Here are two paintings that I finished up yesterday. Sunlit Lake Michigan, calm and clear, with cumulus clouds up in the distance. As a pair, they form a continuous image, but they also look interesting separated. These are each 12 inches by 24 inches, the same dimensions as Summer Triangle and Winter Circle, a pair of star paintings I was working on this time last year.

(available on etsy)

I’m trying out a few new things (thanks again for the gift cards!). I used a piece of hardboard (masonite) to make a bigger palette and this was my first time using it. I gave it many coats of linseed oil over a couple days, but the porous board still sucked the oil out of my paints, making them stiff. It worked out okay, and with each day’s cleaning it seems to be happening less. It’s great to have a bigger mixing area and it cleans up easily.

I got a new brush, too —  a Princeton Catalyst Polytip bristle flat, no. 6. It’s synthetic and very stiff, I like it a lot, may get a few of the other sizes.

On our trip to Michigan the girls and I tried out a little tin of watercolor pencils, adding color to sketches. Watercolor is tricksy, but these are portable and it’s nice to add simple washes and still have the control and texture of colored pencils. Thumbs up.

One thought on “Oil Paintings: Lake and Sky

    […] me of a favorite subject that I want to explore again. These share subject and format with the Lake and Sky paintings from 2012. Thanks for […]

Leave a Reply

