Another Drawing: Crowned Figure

Posted on Updated on

14 by 17 inches, pen and watercolor on paper
14 by 17 inches, pen and watercolor on paper

Another quick drawing – these are relaxing and fun. Sharpie markers and watercolor paint on paper. I started this with more of the round “where’s waldo” eyes but it looked absurd, so I scribbled them into a downcast glance. Thinking about Hundertwasser gets me thinking about crowns – he has some interesting quotes about being a king, having only to set a crown on his head. I once saw a series of 100 ladder sculptures an artist had done, I saw this at Calvin College when I was in high school. It would be interesting to do a series of crowns.

Leave a Reply

