Oil Painting of a Tulip and Daffodils

Posted on

10 by 10 inches, oil on gessoed hardboard

The girls and I took a trip to Michigan this weekend while Sten was rocking out at a retreat with the Hungry Fathers Band. We had a great time – slept in a tent, took a walk in the woods and saw spring wildflowers, and hung out with family members we have missed.

I started this painting yesterday. I’m trying to get some of the interesting, loose brushstrokes I like from the timed sketches into larger, more careful paintings. I tried doing a 30 minute timed still life of daffodils, and it was terrible – wiped it. (I think some of the problem was I used pthalo blue in a the underpainting and the whole thing came out blue-greenish). I planted daffodil bulbs in the garden last fall, and a young neighbor was nice enough to pick these for me :).

3 thoughts on “Oil Painting of a Tulip and Daffodils

    Conceptual Muse said:
    April 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Reblogged this on Conceptual Art and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

    Meta Anderson said:
    April 17, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    It’s beautiful. Fun to think of all of you sleeping in a tent!

      debrha responded:
      April 17, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      Thanks! Yes, there were six of us in the tent, and the kids all slept pretty well. At one point the wind picked up, and I ran out and staked the tent down a little better. I had a hard time falling to sleep again after that. Lots of fun, though. We’ll have to try it in your back yard, next :).

Leave a Reply

