Sketchbook pages, Motherland

Posted on Updated on

NOTE: The closing reception for the Motherland show at North Park University is from 5 to 7 p.m. this Friday night, February 10. The girls and I are looking forward to it! Please come if you can 🙂

Inspired by watching young kids paint with such concentration, purpose, and freedom – and by Hundertwasser, and by the book Life, Paint, and Passion  – I’m making some paintings that are more intuitive and abstract. The paintings are fine, but recent sketches more interesting, so I’m posting a few. Meredith helped me with the third one and then added her own sketch on a new page. I like seeing ideas developing through images. I doodle something, and then based on how that feels, doodle something else. While reading that book I was bothered by the idea that painting must be either process driven or product driven, not both. But I guess one person could paint both ways at different times. I enjoy painting with specific goals, too. But I’ll definitely keep going with this. It seems goofy and it feels good.

2 thoughts on “Sketchbook pages, Motherland

    Meta Anderson said:
    February 8, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    These are so whimsical! I love them!

      debrha responded:
      February 8, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      🙂

Leave a Reply

