Oil Painting of Backyards

Posted on Updated on

6 inches square, oil on hardboard

Great day – the weather was great, and I spent part of the afternoon painting outside. This sea of green is the view from our backyard facing south, through the neighbors backyards. I like the shade under the trees with the bits of bright light punching through.

While I was working on this, I was thinking I need to revisit Laurel Daniel’s blog. She paints such beautiful plein air landscapes — I am so inspired by her work and her wisdom.

2 thoughts on “Oil Painting of Backyards

    Carlene Dingman Atwater said:
    September 17, 2011 at 7:09 am

    Love the use of greens in this one. You created a colorful range of greens.

      debrha responded:
      September 18, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      I wonder about the color green – it seems to have a whole spectrum of its own. Are our eyes more attuned to variations in that color, since there’s so much of it in the environment? I need to look into that. Thank you for your kind comments!

Leave a Reply

