Oil Painting of a Sleeping Girl

Posted on

8 by 6 inches, oil on hardboard

Working with one of my favorite models here. I had to rework the values and darken the shadows a few times – it was tough, so much to learn. Here is a gorgeous portrait by Qiang Huang that inspires me. I admire the deliberate brushstrokes, the clear modeling of the forms of the face and the color. When Meredith saw my finished painting she said, “I’m so red and so cute.”

Great news! My painting, Radish, has been juried into the Randy Higbee 6″ Squared Exhibition and Sale in Costa Mesa, California. The show runs April 16 to May 6. I’m thrilled!

6 by 6 inches, oil on hardboard
2 thoughts on “Oil Painting of a Sleeping Girl

    Christy said:
    April 27, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    How did I miss this one of Merry? Unbelievable! Ben thought it was a photograph when I showed him. You are seriously gifted, my friend.

      debrha responded:
      April 28, 2011 at 9:31 am

      Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

