Far Farm

Posted on Updated on

9" by 12", oil on gessoed hardboard

This might be finished. I wanted to concentrate all the detail in that far horizon with the barn and trees. For contrast, and to build a sense of space, I intended to leave the foreground sketchy, with broad strokes and little detail. I may work on it some more – something a few degrees closer to the beautiful, stark paintings of Joseph Alleman would be great. Or maybe I’ll just chop off the bottom 5 inches. I’ll take a break and look at it with fresh eyes in a few days.

This is another view from my parents’ yard. With Pasture and this Two Silos, it’s becoming a series. And it’s time for another visit.

Leave a Reply

