Oil Painting of Lyrid Meteors

8 by 8 inches, oil on gessoed hardboard

Every year in late April Earth passes through the dusty tail of Comet Thatcher, and the encounter causes a meteor shower–the Lyrids. This year the shower peaks on Saturday night, April 21st. Forecasters expect 10 to 20 meteors per hour, although outbursts as high as 100 meteors per hour are possible…

– Spaceweather.com

With a new moon in opposition, 2012 was a great year to watch the Lyrid meteor shower. I kept my eyes on the skies, but it was pretty cloudy here. This painting is what I had hoped to see. Did you see any meteors?

Years ago my mom, sister and I saw the most amazing fireball while we lay on the trampoline in the backyard. All the other meteors I’ve seen have been the tiny, not-quite-sure-I-saw-anything kind. That one was amazing – a wonderful memory in great company.

One more thing – I joined DailyPaintworks! Click here to see my DPW gallery. It’s an online art community and gallery. I’ve followed DailyPaintworks for a long time, and I’ve learned alot from the generous artists there.


2 responses to “Oil Painting of Lyrid Meteors

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

