Self Portrait in Oil – DPW Challenge

Posted on Updated on

6 by 6 inches, oil on hardboard

I just finished this self portrait for this week’s DPW challenge. It’s a little too crooked, and a little too cute, but I don’t mind that :). It reminds me that I want to practice drawing anatomy. I have a set of great tutorials by Riven Pheonix¬†called the Structure of Man. If I had a better understanding of the structure of the human head, I could focus more on getting a likeness without trying to figure out where the eye goes, where the nostril goes, etc.

5 thoughts on “Self Portrait in Oil – DPW Challenge

    Crystal Cook said:
    May 1, 2011 at 7:56 am

    I found you through the DPW challenge site when I saw your self portrait. All of your work here is so beautiful! I’ve been looking through your posts and love everything that I see. And I love that you include your daughters too.

    I’m so happy to have found another ‘painting mom’ to follow! I have three boys and it’s hard to fit in the time to paint, isn’t it? I’ll definetly be back to see what you’re up to next! Love your work. :)

      debrha responded:
      May 1, 2011 at 12:05 pm

      Oh thanks!

      By the way, you have a wonderful site – I love your paintings!

    Sten Anderson said:
    May 1, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Great self portrait, honey.

    Meta Anderson said:
    May 3, 2011 at 10:24 am

    Wow! Deb, this is beautiful.

      debrha responded:
      May 4, 2011 at 8:16 pm

      Thanks! It’s an optimistic self portrait, artistic liberty and all ;)

Leave a Reply

