North of the Creek

10 by 7.5 inches, acrylic on gessoed illustration board

10 by 7.5 inches, acrylic on gessoed illustration board

underpainting, 10 by 7.5 inches, acrylic on gessoed illustration board

This week the girls and I painted using a photo from my parents’ Michigan farm. I worked on simple shapes and a clear value pattern. I put my painting last, since I didn’t get very far. I’ll post mine again when I finish it.

Meredith and I worked together on her underpainting, and then she added color. The sky holes in her autumn tree on the left turned out great.

I’d like to frame some of these paintings, so we’re trying out a frame on Holly’s painting. She’s very happy with it.

Here’s a photo of our little child laborers, hard at work:

One response to “North of the Creek

  • Christy

    Wow Deb you are so inspiring! Your kids are so lucky to have such a fantastic & talented mom! Love the family paintings, but now we need one from Sten :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

